The commission is composed of five commissioners nominated by the president and confirmed by the Liberian Senate. One of the commissioners serves as Chairperson and one as Vice Chairperson.


The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Commission shall be appointed by the President for a term of five (5) years each, and shall be eligible for appointment for one additional term of (5) years.

To ensure continuity, the President on a staggered term basis, subject to confirmation by the Liberian Senate, shall appoint three (3) additional Commissioners for terms as follows:

  1. One (1) Commissioner shall be appointed for an initial term of four (4) years.
  2. One (1) Commissioner shall be appointed for an initial term of three (3) years
  3. One (1) Commissioner shall be appointed for an initial term of two (2) years

Therefore, all subsequent appointments shall be for a fixed period of five years.

Commissioners so appointed shall be eligible for re-appointment once.


                           COMING SOON!!!!!!!!!!!


      Cllr. Kanio Bai Gbala                                         Vice Chairperson

Cllr. Gbala has led many important national civil society coalitions in Liberia including the Transitional Justice Working Group (TJWG) which at one point comprised over 25 civil society organizations working on issues of public accountability.

Over the last 15 years Cllr. Gbala has worked/consulted for several international and local organizations on programs emphasizing democratic governance and the rule of law in Liberia, Senegal and Nigeria. Some of these organizations include the Open Society Initiative for West Africa (OSIWA), the United Nations Development Program (UNDP), TrustAfrica, The Internews Network, DAI Global LLC, the International Center for Transitional Justice, Sites of Conscience, Kofi Annan Institute for Conflict Transformation, United States Agency for International Development (USAID), the National Youth Movement for Transparent Elections (NAYMOTE) and the Liberia Institute of Public Administration.

Prior to his appointment to the LACC, Cllr. Gbala served as Country Coordinator for the United Nations Volunteers (UNV) Program at UNDP Liberia where he oversaw the identification and deployment of skilled human resource assets for the UN System in Liberia. On a part time basis, he serves as Adjunct Professor of Law at the Louis Arthur Grimes School of Law where he teaches Legal Writing and Public International Law.

He holds a BBA in Business Administration from the Stella Maris Polytechnic, an LLB in Law from the Louis Arthur Grimes School of Law, University of Liberia, and an LL.M in Law with specialization in Democratic Governance and Rule of Law from the Claude Pettit School of Law, Ohio Northern University. The Vice Chairperson is a certified Prince2Agile Project Manager and has amassed several certifications in transitional justice and project management.

He is Vice President of the Grand Gedeh Bar, member of the Liberian National Bar Association Law Journal Committee as well as member of the Honorable Supreme Court Bar of Liberia. For leisure, Kanio enjoys debates, scrabble and deep philosophical conversations. Kanio is married with two kids, Dorisann and Kanio, Jr.